The Challenge of Charity

Box Cover

Those who read this blog regularly will know that while I emphasize generosity and cooperation as the primary virtues of humanity, you will also know that I value my independence. When possible, I try to solve my own problems and while I have received assistance countless times, I have never been much good at asking for it.

The reason that I bring this up is that in pursuing my bucket list, I have set my sights on creating a board game. To create a board game however, requires a substantial amount of capital that has lead me to Kickstarter. Kickstarter is a crowd funding website that allows those interested in seeing a project come to fruition with copies of the product and other rewards being given to those who pledge money based on the amount of the pledge.

Crowd funding as a concept is revolutionary to me as it changes the relationship from accountability to a single or small group of investors to a large group of customer that ultimately your project and your efforts should be striving to support.

All is not good in the realm of Kickstarter however. The price of any crowd funding platform is that it forces you into the spotlight and places your reputation on the line. You must expose yourself in order to have a successful project and in this way, must sacrifice the introverted portion in the pursuit of a dream.

While Kickstarter has required sacrifice and a shift in the accountability relationship, it still never addressed my primary problem, that I am not good at asking people for support…so I will let a quote from W.B Yeats do it for me:

“I, being poor, have only my dreams;

I have spread my dreams under your feet;

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.”
There you have it, the big question. If you are interested in pledging to support a board game that showcases Canadian nature and agriculture, I would appreciate any donations to my Kickstarter game: Crop Cycle

Regardless of whether you pledge money to me or not, I will continue to write this blog, share stories that make you laugh, make you cry (with laughter), and occasionally make you think!

Leave a Reply

