Concept # 6 Don’t Eat Garbage

day6

Digital Design by Daniel Prairie

If you have no idea what is going on, I recommend that you read this post first.

I am sure that I am going to get some flak from people for restating common sense, but after watching a grown man become violently ill on 2 day diet comprised solely of Doritos and chocolate, I feel that diet is worth mentioning.

To be clear, I am not advocating some sort of miracle diet that will turn you into an Olympic athlete, he-man, and a super-model all at the same time. What I am advocating is not eating garbage continuously. I am also neither a nutritionist nor a dietitian (more of a nutritional enthusiast really), so take the advice below with a grain of salt (or no salt at all).

From Concept #5, you can see that my diet is far from perfect. I enjoy the occasional dessert and on some days, my diet is largely comprised of foods that would fast-track me to diabetes if I ate like that regularly. Other days however, I like to think that I eat quite well

So what is eating well? An easier way to answer that question is to define what it is to eat poorly. To me, eating poorly is:

  • Eating fast food (yes Tim Hortons counts, national pride be damned)
  • Consuming enough coffee that your body hums from vibrating so much and/or endure cataclysmic headaches if you go without coffee
  • Eating processed foods (think T.V dinners, chips and anything else that contains more than four 16-syllable ingredients in their “recipe)
  • Eating candy/alcohol/chocolate (but you already knew that)

Does this mean that you diet is terrible if you eat any of the above? No.

Is your diet terrible if the above products constitute the majority of your diet? Yes.

Will eating the above diet lead to an emotional slump as you ride your blood sugar levels like a roller coaster at the Wisconsin Dells? Yes.

Can the physical outcomes of eating garbage lead to body images issues? Yes.

Hence, eat better and feel happier.

Applying the Concept:

Imagine if I could just tell people to eat better and they would; I would have a license to print money! It is odd because in my experience many people want to eat better and know they should but there seems to be a disconnect between wanting to eat better and actually eating better.

The best advice I can give is the same advice I give for Exercising, start small and with what you enjoy. Don’t go on a crash diet unless you are dangerously overweight and at the brink of serious health concerns. Start with small, incremental changes to your diet and go from there.

Also, if you don’t like asparagus, don’t start your new diet with asparagus. Find changes that you can tolerate and begin their. When I was a child, I went through the bland phases, where I only wanted plain spaghetti. The idea of raw vegetables was out of the question. Beyond straight up forcing me to eat my damn vegetables from time to time, my parents instilled better eating habits in me by beginning with tomato sauce, which I learned to tolerate with my spaghetti. From there they added cooked tomatoes and then raw tomatoes.

Now I eat raw tomatoes all the time. Just remember not to bite off more than you can chew (no more puns from this point out, I promise) and focus on changing eating habits in the long term, not the short.

Leave a Reply

